Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Back 40 A1A. We'd love to have your feedback!

St. Augustine

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Back 40 A1A and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Cassie about 8 hours ago

Shrimp Curry

Shrimp Curry salad Is the best!!! It is always so fresh and the salad dressing is unlike anything you'll get in St. Augustine!!

Myrabsmith 6 days ago

Chili

Best vegie chili around!

Dianatunkus54 8 days ago

Shrimp Curry

This is my favorite salad! Everything is so fresh The dressing is so delicious I could drink it.

Branan 17 days ago

Caribbean Meatball Sub

Wow! I had to try it, Carribean meatball sub? The slaw with mango and hot peppers on toasted bun was amazing! Can't wait to return.

Matt 23 days ago

Cuban

Absolutely the best cuban sandwhich in st augustine!!

Gigi about 1 month ago

Southwest Egg Rolls

These egg rolls were delicious! They are so tasty. The sauce is amazing. The only thing I wonder is if there's any kind of chicken or meat in them. It says filled with vegetables but I'm not sure if we could identify everything. ..

Scott about 2 months ago

Jerk Chicken Nachos

Got the nachos to go, They were fantastic and enough for two people.

Cory 2 months ago

Thai Chicken

This is my favorite go to salad! The ingredients are fresh, chicken seasoned perfectly and that dressing is so good you want to drink it!

Barbara 3 months ago

½ Pound 40 Burger

My husband says it was good and he would order it again. Good addition to the menu!

Barbara 3 months ago

Southwest Egg Rolls

Fun addition to the menu!

Devin 3 months ago

Santa Fe Chicken

Great salad, just bummed it was missing all the shredded cheese! :(

James 3 months ago

Fiesta Mahi

excellent. perfectly seasoned

Cagoldsborough 3 months ago

Island Bowl

We LOVE this restaurant! Food is always fresh and delicious and the staff is wonderful. The Island Bowl is our go-to for carryout, which we try to do every week. Always enough for leftovers. Can't wait to try your new menu items. Thank you!!!

Stephanie 3 months ago

Shrimp Curry

Always a great meal with a smile!

M 3 months ago

Drunkin' Burrito

Excellent combination of flavors! I would definitely order this again.

Rachael 3 months ago

Sweet Chili Lime Shrimp

I've had these and the island bowl. Never disappointed! Order from back 40 a1a no less than once a week. It's my staple!!

Michael 3 months ago

Side Caesar Salad

A salad is a salad is a salad. But, the caesar dressing at the Back-40 should be independently marketed and sold. Wonderful.

Jilynn 3 months ago

Chicken Curry

I was so glad this wrap was huge because I got to enjoy it for dinner and again for lunch the next day. The perfect flavor combination of chicken, veggies, cashews, coconut, and coconut curry dressing was delicious.

Ellen 4 months ago

Shrimp Po'boy

I had a Shrimp Roll; I think the Po'Boy may be the same thing. The actual roll was definitely up to the task, not disintigrating at all. I liked the sandwich, but it was kind of plain. The sauce had a tiny bit of heat to it, which was fine with me as I like mild-medium. It was dripping out of the tail end of the sandwich though. Maybe if it was thicker it would stay in the sandwich and give more taste to the roll. The best part was the shrimp; not only did it look and taste like it was really fresh, but it was SO plentiful. I personally would have been happier if it was chopped some, like lobster meat typically is in a Lobster Roll. The whole shrimps were good size creating a pretty big bite, along with the roll, cabbage and tomato.

Rdtall3 5 months ago

Wet Burrito

Always fresh, always delicious. This meal never disappoints.

Myrabsmith 6 days ago

Back 40 Crab Cakes

Really good crab cakes- very "crabby" and a good addition to the menu.

Myrabsmith 6 days ago

½ Pound 40 Burger

Great burger!

Amynicole355 11 days ago

Santa Fe Chicken

Dear Back 40, This dish is Super Awesome! Every time i've had this dish, which is like 20 times ( used to be the farmhouse chicken salad, i believe?) it has been fantastic. the food is super affordable. You receive a big portion of food for only 11.00. Consistently cooked well and the cucumbers are amazing. They are pickled cucumbers, but not quite pickles and i could eat an entire jar of them in one sitting. Also, the southwest ranch pulls the dish together nicely. there is a great combination of flavors between the beans and crunchy tortilla strips and all working together. the customer service is great too. I love putting money back into the pockets of my local neighbors. warmly, amy

Jan 18 days ago

New Orleans Style Gumbo

Best gumbo outside of New Orleans-don't miss out on this one!!!!

George 27 days ago

Cajun Shrimp

This dish has an amazing combination of flavors that excites my entire palate. The grits are so well done that they could satisfy my appetite by themself.

Phyder48 about 2 months ago

Dynamite Shrimp

We have tried about everything on the menu but the dynamite shrimp must be the best item on the menu. You can split with a friend and then get a wonderful dessert. We ht tried all. Never disappointed. We have been to over 20 different restaurants in St. Aug and this is our favorite. Good food and good service. Cannot wait for Covid to end so date night will resume

Trish about 2 months ago

Jerk Chicken Pineapple

I've traveled a lot, had food from lots of places and I'd have to say...Back 40 has some of the best I've ever had! We recently moved to the neighborhood and will definitely be regular customers!

Angela 2 months ago

Chimichurri Steak

The crab cakes were awesome and loaded with crabmeat not filler. Everything was delicious.

Barbara 3 months ago

Chili & Chips

Delicious as usual. I order the Chili often both with and without the salad.

Devin 3 months ago

Southwest Egg Rolls

These were delicious!!! Loved them :)

James 3 months ago

Cuban

good. nice Cuban bread.

James 3 months ago

Shrimp Po'boy

very good . would order again

Amy 3 months ago

Jerk Chicken Nachos

Amazing!!! We ordered take out and chips were sti crispy and everything nice and hot!! Some of the best nachos I've ever had. We will def order again of we are back in the area again!!

Susan 3 months ago

Shrimp Curry

Everything I've ever eaten at the Back 40 is delicious but the shrimp curry salad is my consistent favorite. Pickled cucumbers and the most delicious homemade buttermilk curry dressing make it special!!

George 3 months ago

New Orleans Style Gumbo

Best Gumbo in Saint Augustine! Love this dish!

Michael 3 months ago

Chili Mac Bowl

This is an amazing mix of fresh veggies, beans, and love. Very tasty. And the helping is enough for about 3-4 meals - honestly. It's amazing.

George 3 months ago

Avocado & Roasted Red Pepper

Back 40 A1A is a hidden treasure on the island. The casual cafe atmosphere, great food and genuinely friendly staff have made this one of my favorite restaurants.

Cristy 4 months ago

Island Bowl

Amazing island bowl! Wish we could take you guys home with us. Thanks for amazing food and service!

Will 5 months ago

New Orleans Style Gumbo

Absolutely Outstanding !!!

Carolyn 5 months ago

Shrimp Curry

I love the Curry Shrimp Salad. The half size is perfect amount for me.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA